Today I waited for the bus in the -30 degree windchill.  Catching the bus at Coffman Union at the University of Minnesota is not a meaningful experience on an average day.  When the weather is bad though, it is a treat.  Did I write a post about the contact high I got, sitting in the back of the bus?  I think so.  Today might have been even better.  Listen to this dialogue:

“I Loooove Coffee.”

“Coffee?”

“Yeah.  It is sooooo good.  Me and Carse, we started drinking the stuff to get through our long nights of studying.  The aterol supply is low, man.  Really low.”

I love riding the bus.  Where else would I hear such intimacy?  I almost asked the kid where his hat, mitten and scarf might be, and then I realized that I would sound like a mom.  But really!  It was -10 degrees with a near -40 below windchill factor and this 6 foot tall, 260+ pound man had no outerwear other than a coat.

Some days, I’m disappointed by my hatless fellow Minnesotans.

Thank God the weather is taking a turn tomorrow.

