“Car Free”
A List Poem

Slow
Consciousness
Awareness
Community
Planning
Thinking ahead
Being seen
Seeing
Living in community
Choosing
Belonging
Earth Conscious

“The Car”
A List Poem

Dirty
Smelly
Sand
Salt
Parking Meters
Parking Ramps
Late, always late
Carseats
Seatbelt straps
Rush, rush, rush
Extra trips
Rides home late at night
Stop for drinks
Avoid
Run

The Bus:
A List Poem

Women Hacking
Germs crawling
Low Natural Killer Cell Count
Fear
Missed bus
Leaky boots
Disorganization
No pens
No cell phone
No bus pass
Despair

I went car-free because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.

Henry David Thoreau, with my own modifications

Have I learned anything at all?

